Geek Life: Cartoon Reviews – Wild Grinders

Okay so far my reviews have included both classics, up and coming cartoons, and obscurities I really liked and/or left an impression on me (and there’s plenty more where that came from). Today though I’m gonna do something new and talk about a cartoon I just plain don’t like. If you do like Wild Grinders that is fine, especially if you have a legitimate reason(s) why you like the show. I just don’t like this show and to shake things up with Cartoon Reviews I’m gonna talk about why I think this is a bad show.

Image

Okay so the story behind the show is simple and not in the good way. A kid who likes to skate hangs out with his friends and family and live day by day making the most of what they have. Now for shows like Kick Buttowski, The Weekenders, Hey Arnold, and Rocket Power this worked well for those shows because the characters, the way the shows stretch reality here and there, and the unique ideas the shows presented are what made people watch. This show is just a quick cash in to me and nothing more. Everything in this show can be described with two characteristics, bland and uninteresting. The art style is bland, I know this is really an opinion thing more than anything else, but I truly don’t like the art direction. I think it is strange looking and the colors used for the backgrounds and characters I find dull. This show seems to be aiming for older kids/young teenagers, yet the way the characters just spell things out and are completely predictable make it seem more centered for young children.

Image

If I can sum up how the show operates its that the show tries WAY to hard. It seems like they are trying to build off the success of Rocket Power or more recently Kick Buttowski. Everything is skate, skate, skate. They even threw in a talking dog, kids like dogs and there were a few successful talking dogs in the past (i.e Scooby Doo, Adventure Time, American Dragon: Jake Long, Family Guy, The Power Puff Girls, Johnny Test [another show I’ll get to that I’m not too fond of], The Life and Times of Juniper Lee, just to name a few). The voice actors I can tell are trying but it seems both the scripts, the direction, and the voice direction are all over the place and everything just barely comes together because of it. I truly do want to say something good about the show but I can’t. Every decision this show does are done because other shows got success from the same decisions. They have everything, parents/sister that love each other, but don’t see eye to eye, has a lot of main characters to attempt to add variety for episode ideas (but suffers from having all the characters having one track minded personalities), and the nice talking Dog angle for people to start fan clubs for.

Image

That’s just my take on the show, I tried to give it some time to let it grow and figure out a direction, but I’ve seen no results. Luckily people see right through this show, although the advertising is really pushing the show to be popular, people just see it as a quick buck cartoon. Again if you disagree with me that’s fine, but this is how I feel. Thank you for reading and your support, I hope you’ll check out my videos on game analyses and more on my youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/NaismithBilly

Leave a Reply

