GeekLife: What Can Be Valve Cooking For Us?

Last year Valve introduced Steam users to something known as Big Picture Mode which is a special UI, more friendly than the normal way you use the client. Not only is it just better looking, it lets you get in and out a lot faster than you’re used to, and that is all thanks to the ability of using any controller. I saw many people talking about how it feels more like a console UI which came to me as a blast. I decided to get my HDMI, hook it to the TV and use it… It looked, sounded and felt great to use. Then, just then I thought it would work better if I had a controller, but I do have a wired Xbox like controller and it worked just GREAT there!

Steam Big Picture Mode

A couple of hours later and it felt like I’m using a 6th generation console with great graphics… Why is that? Well given to the fact that I can’t sit on the couch because it’s a little farther from the T.V and the wire won’t reach so I packed my stuff and got back to the little games corner in my room where I keep my gaming devices packed. That is when I realized that I should get a controller, but this time without wires. I missed looking at the T.V too much that I kept thinking if I should do it or not, that’s when about a couple of month after that, I decided to finally buy an Xbox 360 controller for my PC which is pretty well built, comfortable and wireless!

Today Valve opened some kind of a teaser page on its Steam website for three new announcements, in which the first will be uncovered in about 2 days from the time you’re reading this. Well what can this be? Come to put the words and hints together, let me see…

Last year, we shipped a software feature called Big Picture, a user-interface tailored for televisions and gamepads.
This year we’ve been working on even more ways to connect the dots for customers who want Steam in the living-room.
Soon, we’ll be adding you to our design process, so that you can help us shape the future of Steam.

What do you think? Now lets tale a pointing into consideration.

  • Steam is moving to the living room.
  • Big Picture is a UI tailored for T.V.
  • Between the last days of May and the first of June (up till e3 2013) Valve revealed that they’re working on hardware.
  • Last week Gabe Newell said that they will roll out information about hardware opportunities for getting Linux into the living room

Adding all this up with everything going on I can tell you this. We will finally have a Steam console. The UI will be that of Big Picture Mode. The OS that runs it must be linux. It will support any controller just like now (and maybe keboard and a mouse for MMO and MOBA games?), it will have many games like right now, and it will be powerful enough to run all the games being released right now. I think that is all we need, now to take a better look into it, maybe we’ll be able to transfer our downloaded files into the console so that we don’t have to download them all over again (Thanks to Linux).

steam controller writing

Of course that is just the base, why would someone stop there? Something I would love to see used there is Steam’s friend list. Big Picture mode does have a pretty neat way for you to type when chatting with a friend, but what about making it a whole lot better? That my friends is called voice chat, who knows? Maybe we’ll have video chat too right? Lets just not lose that for games like Dota 2.

What else can they improve? The social feed I’ve been dieing to make my friends use named simply “Activity”. People there can post taken images in a game for people to see, update their gaming status like writing “what’s happening” on Facebook. Probably turn it like Miiverse on the Wii U.

Taking the hardware part off now, they have three announcements it looks. Well what are the others? If you read the comments on websites like IGN, you would see the desperation of gamers for the next game developed by Valve, well can you blame them? These guys did Left 4 Dead, Portal, Dota and so on. I think the best guess for a game I see is Half Life 3 because it has gone for too long, and come on people! Three announcements? HALF LIFE THREE CONFIRMED? Okay probably not, but it sure is fun to see all the love Valve gets :D. Another look can be Portal 3, a sequel to IGN’s 2011 game of the year, or maybe Left 4 Dead 3?

We won’t know anything until Monday which will be the farthest one of all time for me :/. Anyway thanks for reading gamers, make sure you follow me on twitter @GameOnGamerGuy and add me on Steam gamerguy321. Until next time…

GAME ON!

Leave a Reply

