Geek Life: Cartoon Reviews – Phineas and Ferb

Phineas and Ferb was one of the first smash hit Disney cartoons I’ve seen in a long time.  The show took off very quickly and has a very large fandom of people of many ages. I too am a fan, but I honestly am not a huge fan, and I will explain why in the review. I do think this is a show worth following, but I feel it’s a show that can get tiring after a while.

Image

Where I think this show’s success lies in is the show’s ingenious story arc and fun A and B stories that would later come together in some whimsical way. The story follows two step-brothers Phineas and Ferb who are on Summer Vacation. Now what I love about this idea is the fact that not many kids spend their summer vacation very productively. So a show like this was very needed to inspire creativity and productiveness that kids and even some adults always need. Phineas and Ferb have a colorful group of friends who are by their side during their day of fun. They would build a lot of amazing things they are a little too young to build. Candace their Sister, is always on a mission everyday to “bust her brothers,” and she does add a lot of humor to show and is a great portrayal of an older teen sister. Now while this is happening Phineas and Ferb’s pet Platypus Perry has his own B story. Perry is part of a secret agency of animals as Agent P. In his area he is assigned to stop an evil scientist Dr.Doofenshmirtz of Doofenshmirtz Evil Inc.  Watching Perry in action is fun and humorous, and Doofenshmirtz is hilarious. What I like most of all This B story is a very nice contrast to the A story, and I really like that about the show. What makes the contrast work even more is they always seem to connect in some way making a nice conclusion to each episode.

Image

Phineas is a very inspired person and makes a very good leader and Ferb although he doesn’t say much he leaves a great impression, and I think Phineas said it best when he said Ferb is a “Man of Action.” These too are a great Duo, and it’s no secret that I am a fan of animated Duos. Together these two brothers do and accomplish incredible things and they both show the power of imagination and creativity. Candace is obsessed with getting her brothers in trouble. Every episode is a literal new day during the summer and it’s nice to see a family’s daily life in that regard (even though they are not an average family). Perry is simply a Platypus who is a five star secret agent and their’s not much to say. Despite that though this hero has a big fan base (myself being one of them). Of course my favorite character in the show is Doofenshmirtz. Doofenshmirtz is a very well written character, he is incompetent, snarky, and can sometimes be sympathized with. Their is truly a great colorful cast that adds a lot to every episode, and a colorful cast is a big part of every cartoon. Don’t believe me? Then why don’t you ask Warner Bros., Disney, and Hanna Barbera.

Image

Now what makes me not a huge fan of the show is that I can’t watch it for long periods of time. My reasoning is the formula for this shows writing is very obvious and it makes the show feel a little repetitive. That doesn’t make it a bad show, but it just makes it hard to watch continuously. They will go outside of their formula once in a while, but not to a very high extent. Still this is a show worth looking at if you want something light hearted and fun. It’s a show that has a good message and a colorful cast and with all the work that gets put into it this show has earned its fame. Thank you for reading and your support, I hope you’ll check out my videos on game analyses and more on my youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/NaismithBilly

Leave a Reply

