Geek Life: The Great Angry Video Game Nerd

Today I’d like to talk about a gaming figure I think we all know, the Angry Video Game Nerd. He was the first online gaming icon, and one of the first ever youtube series back in 2006. James Rolfe’s character has made many laugh, learn and inspire in the world of gaming. He has inspired so many to start their own youtube channels, and I will go out on a limb and say he is the reason gaming channels online exist today and that’s why I wanted to talk about him today.

Image
Something I love about the Nerd is his character. He seems like such a simple character, but there is quite a bit more to him underneath it all. His character in a nut shell has a concept of a gamer that not only takes people back to the past, but also is stuck in the past. He struggles with not letting go of the fact that these childhood games of his, before the internet to warn him, has ripped him off here and there and upset him greatly. He struggles with the idea of not moving on to the point where he must show the world of the gaming injustices that are no longer relevant to the modern world. He drinks beer to dull the pain as he goes through the games he wants to show the world, he will not move on until every Atari, Amiga, CDI, Colecovision, Intellivision, Sega, Neo Geo, Turbo Grafix 16, Odyssey, 3DO, Commodore, and Nintendo game will be eposed to the world for its un-relevant injustices.  For such an entertaining character there is a lot of tragedy for this character as he stays in his basement looking for his next target to show the world.

Image

My experiences with the Nerd I think are very typical, I was around 13 when I saw my first AVGN episode, it was the first bible games episode. My cousins showed me him at their house being at the time I didn’t really go on the internet that much being something so new to many people (am I really that old?). I loved watching as many as I can find before I knew of Cinemassacre.com, Screwattack.com, and even youtube. Then after a while the only ones I could find were the only ones I saw over and over, so eventually it became a show in the back of my mind. Then a year after the Wii’s release I found myself losing interest in video games (sad I know), but something happen with the Nerd that I think was meant to happen; after all I wouldn’t be here right now if it wasn’t for this moment. My T.V blew out and I couldn’t watch anything, so I started going on my computer more for my entertainment. At that moment I remembered AVGN and decided to take a look at it again. I watched all the episodes I saw in the past that I still approved of years later. Then I saw there was a website to go to for AVGN episodes, Cinemassacre.com, I got on and watched every episode to date. It sparked in me why I loved games and I picked up a 3DS shortly after, then my T.V was repaired and I fired up my old consoles I had collecting dust, it was a great moment in my life that got me back into one of my lifetime hobbies. AVGN helped me find the online gaming world that inspired me to start a youtube channel and even got me to join the great team of NintendoChronicle (that’s the site they’re currently called incase they change the name again) and Geek Life. One of my first videos I ever uploaded even was an AVGN video after my excitment for the AVGN Movie announcement (WARNING SHAMELESS PLUG: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ih8LX-Q-rb4&list=PL80217ACC1C9A05FA&index=1 ).

Image

I think the Nerd is a very important figure not only in online gaming, but for gaming in general, and not to mention check out the other works of James Rolfe, he is a very talented film maker. It goes without saying the AVGN has a great following ad legacy behind it. It continues to this day and has no end in sight. I for one congratulate him for his success, soon to come movie, and his child on the way. I also thank him among many for his influence and laughs. Thank you for reading and your support, I hope you’ll check out my videos on game analyses and more on my youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/NaismithBilly

Leave a Reply

